Back to top

Manage VPP users

Last updated December 6th, 2023

You can add iOS and macOS device users who are enrolled in Knox Manage as VPP users. Use the User page to add VPP users and send them an invitation message. Device users can then accept this invitation to become full VPP users. If a device user doesn’t accept the invitation on their devices, you can resend the invitation. When VPP users are removed or their statuses are changed on the Knox Manage console, you can synchronize the user information with the VPP website.

Tip

This page applies to user-based VPP app assignment methods. If you plan to assign VPP apps on a per-device basis, you don’t need to manage VPP users.

Access VPP user actions

To access VPP user actions:

  1. On the Knox Manage console, go to User.

  2. Select one or more iOS or macOS device users. When you’ve selected eligible iOS device users, the following options are available:

    1. Send VPP invitation

    2. Delete from VPP

    3. Sync VPP

Add VPP users

You can add device users of activated iOS and macOS devices as VPP users. Once a device user accepts an invitation, they are registered on the VPP website as well as in Knox Manage. You can also use this same process to reinvite device users who didn’t accept the invites.

To add VPP users:

  1. On the Knox Manage console, go to User.
  2. Select one or more iOS or macOS device users to add as VPP users.
  3. Click Send VPP invitation. The invitation message is sent to the users through notifications or email.

Remove VPP users

You can remove registered VPP users and revoke their license codes.

To remove VPP users:

  1. On the Knox Manage console, go to User.
  2. Select one or more iOS or macOS device users to remove as VPP users.
  3. Click Delete from VPP.
  4. When prompted, click OK. The selected users are removed from the list of VPP users.

Sync VPP user information

If you modify VPP user information on the Knox Manage console, you can sync that information with the VPP website.

There are two syncing methods:

  • Automatic and scheduled syncing in Setting > iOS/macOS > VPP Server Setting
  • Manual syncing

To sync the user information manually:

  1. On the Knox Manage console, go to User.
  2. Select all eligible iOS or macOS device users.
  3. Click Sync VPP, then click OK. The VPP user information is synced with the VPP website.

Is this page helpful?