View and modify a license

Last updated May 7th, 2026

Once a license is registered in Knox Manage, you can view and modify license details, release seats, delete unneeded licenses, and synchronize license information with the Samsung Electronics License Management (SLM) system. This lets you manage your licenses throughout their lifecycles and make the most of your purchased license allocations.

View the details of a license

You can view the details of a license, such as its expiration date, the total number of seats it contains, the number of seats left, and the devices enrolled under it.

If both a Knox Suite Plan and a Knox Platform for Enterprise license key are applied to a device at the same time, the usage count may differ between the license server and the Knox Manage server. Refer to the count on the Setting > License page on the Knox Manage console for the most accurate tally.

To view the details of a license:

  1. Go to Setting > License.

  2. Click on the license key you want to view.

  3. For each license key, the following usage details show:

    • Total number of seats: the number of devices allowed to enroll under that license
    • List of devices that use that license
    • License type: whether the license is a trial or commercial license
    • Status: Valid, Almost Expired, or Expired

License details are synced daily at midnight. You can also sync license details manually by clicking Sync.

Knox Suite - Essentials Plan (KLM12-) and Knox Suite - Enterprise Plan (KLM11-/KLM12-) licenses include a temporary buffer after consuming all seats, as indicated by a red bar and negative remaining percentage under the license key. To resolve this, you must purchase additional licenses or unenroll unused devices.

Modify a license name

You can change the name of a registered license. To modify a license name:

  1. Go to Setting > License.

  2. Select a license. The License Details page opens.

  3. Click Modify next to the license name, and modify it or enter a new license name, as required.

  4. Save the license.

Unenroll a license

Unenrolling a device impacts the number of license seats in use. When you unenroll a device:

  • The license seat is released and can be assigned to another device using Knox services.

  • If no devices are associated with a license, you can delete the license.

For information on how to replace, upgrade, or delete your license, see Manage Knox licenses.

Delete an existing license

If you no longer need to use a registered license, you can delete it from the Knox Admin Portal.

Synchronize license information

You can synchronize license information with the Samsung Electronics License Management (SLM) system to retrieve updated license information from the SLM system.

You do not need to perform this procedure for Knox Suite licenses, because those licenses are synced automatically.

To synchronize license information with the SLM system:

  1. Go to Setting > License.

  2. Select the licenses you want to synchronize and click Sync.

Is this page helpful?