Why do I lose a Knox license seat after factory resetting my device?
Last updated July 26th, 2023
All Knox Workspace or Premium versions
When I wipe a device with the EMM console command, I do not regain the Knox license seat count. I cannot use my Knox license on another device.
The device was factory reset without first being unenrolled from the EMM. By design, the license seat is not returned.
If you already wiped a device without unenrolling it from an EMM and want to restore its Knox license seat, use the device deactivation tool. For details, see How to use the Device Deactivation Tool?.Back to KBAs
Is this page helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!