Manage users
Last updated September 16th, 2026
This document is new for the Knox cloud services 26.10 UAT.
On this tab
Users is a Labs feature. Labs features are experimental and may be modified or discontinued without prior notice.
You can use the Users page to manage the users (that is, employee accounts) in your service location, without navigating to the Samsung account for Business console. To manage admin users, see Manage admins.
You can update an active user’s details, resend an activation link to a user, cancel a pending invitation, or delete a user.
The user management menu options under Actions are enabled:
- If you have the Manage Users permissions. For more information, see Create a role.
- If the selected user has the right status. See following sections for details.
- If you select a single user only. They are disabled when you select more than one user.
All changes made to a user account are recorded in the activity log.
Edit user details
You can edit information related to a user account if it’s in the Active status, was created manually in Samsung account for Business, and is not managed using an identity provider.
Conversely, you cannot edit a user if any of the following apply:
- The user is in the Pending deletion, Blocked, or Pending status.
- The user is managed through an identity provider (IdP).
- You select an admin or more than one user to edit.
To update the details of a user:
-
On the Users page, select the user’s name, and click Actions > Edit user details. The Edit user details page opens.
Alternatively, click EDIT USER in the side panel that opens when you click a user name.
-
Update the following details, as required:
- First name
- Middle name (optional)
- Last name
- Work email
- User ID
- Domain
- Division (optional)
- Department (optional)
-
Click Save changes.
The updates are validated to avoid duplicates and are then saved.
View a user’s devices
To view the devices that a user is signed in to, click the user’s device count under the Signed in device column on the Users page.
It opens the Devices page that shows the device list filtered by the user. You can view device information, such as IMEI or MEID, serial number, user, model name, market name, SKU, supported services, and device status.
Assign an enrollment profile
You can use enrollment profiles to assign enrollment configurations to devices or users. When a user signs in to a fully managed device with their Samsung account for Business, the enrollment profile assigned to them is used to automatically enroll the device, and the user’s name is shown on the Devices page.
Consider the following when assigning enrollment profiles to a user:
- To assign enrollment profiles to users, you must first enable the feature. For more information, see Customize the portal.
- You can assign only one enrollment profile to a user. If you assign a second enrollment profile to a user, the first enrollment profile is automatically replaced.
- You can assign an enrollment profile to a user with Active or Pending status. This action is not available for users in the Blocked or Pending deletion status.
- You can’t assign enrollment profiles that contains EMM configuration information.
- If a user signs in to a device that’s already assigned an enrollment profile, there is no change to the existing enrollment profile on the device.
- Only fully managed devices are enrolled on user sign in using the assigned enrollment profile. These devices are then managed as company-owned devices. Even if device enrollment by user sign-in is disabled, there is no change to the device’s management mode.
To assign an enrollment profile to users:
-
On the Users page, select the users, and click Actions > Assign enrollment profile. The Assign enrollment profile page opens.
-
Select a listed enrollment profile. If required, you can search for an enrollment profile by its name or EMM URI. You can also sort the profiles by Knox cloud services.
If no profile is listed, click Create new profile to create one. For more information, see Manage enrollment profiles.
-
Click Assign. The Profile will be assigned to users dialog displays.
-
Click Confirm and assign profile.
The selected profile is assigned to the user and the profile name is displayed under the Enrollment profile column on the Users page.
Unassign an enrollment profile
You can unassign an enrollment profile from one user at a time. The user must have the Active or Pending status. This action is not available for users in the Blocked or Pending deletion status.
To unassign an enrollment profile:
-
On the Users page, select the user, and click Actions > Unassign enrollment profile. The Unassign enrollment profile dialog opens.
-
Click Unassign profile to confirm.
The enrollment profile is removed from the user account. The enrollment profile settings remain on the user’s signed-in devices until the devices are factory reset.
Resend an activation link
If a user in the Pending status did not receive or misplaced the activation email or hasn’t acted on their account activation link, you can send them a new activation email.
-
On the Users page, select the user’s name, and click Actions > Resend activation link. The Resend activation link dialog opens.
-
Click Resend.
A new activation email is sent to the user’s email address.
Cancel an invitation
You can cancel an invitation only for a user whose status is Pending. This action is not available if you select multiple users simultaneously.
To cancel the invitation sent to a user:
-
On the Users page, select the user’s name, and click Actions > Cancel invitation. The Cancel invitation dialog opens.
-
Click Cancel invitation.
The activation link sent to the user is deactivated and can no longer be used. Additionally, their account is deleted and the user is removed from the Users page.
Delete a user
If a user no longer exists in the company or otherwise needs to be removed from your Knox company account, you can delete their account from the Users page to prevent account misuse.
When you initiate deletion, the user is blocked and signed out of all their devices. However, there is no change to the enrollment profile currently assigned to a device or to the device status. The devices continue to display in the common device list, as before.
The delete action is synced with the Samsung account for Business console.
-
You have the option to cancel the deletion within 30 days, after which the user account is permanently deleted from the associated service location.
-
If associated with multiple locations in the Samsung account for Business console, there is no change to the user’s accounts in the other locations.
You can delete only the users you manage, and can delete only one user at a time. Additionally, the delete action is not available for users managed by identity providers.
To delete a user:
-
On the Users page, select the user you want to delete.
-
Click Actions > Delete user.
-
Depending on the number of locations associated with the user in the Samsung account for Business console, one of the following dialogs display:
-
If associated with only your Knox service location, a Delete user dialog opens, confirming the permanent deletion of the user after 30 days and signing out of the user from all devices. Click Delete to continue.
In the Samsung account for Business console, the user status changes to Pending Deletion and user details are no longer editable. If not restored within the next 30 days, the user is permanently deleted. If returned to the Active status within 30 days, the user is added back to the Users page during the next sync.
-
If associated with multiple locations, a Remove user dialog displays confirming the removal of the user from only your service location. Click Remove to continue.
In the Samsung account for Business console, the user is removed from your service location, but continues to exist for other locations.
-
The user is removed from the Users page in the Knox Admin Portal. All updates related to the deletion are captured in the activity log.
Is this page helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!