Menu

"Network may be monitored" shown after installing a private CA certificate on device

Environment

  • Knox Platform for Enterprise (KPE)
  • Samsung devices running Android 4.4 or higher

Why do I see "Network may be monitored" after installing a private CA certificate on a device?

Google added this network monitoring warning as part of the Android KitKat (4.4) security enhancements. This warning indicates that a device has at least one user-installed certificate, which could be used by malware to monitor encrypted network traffic. 

 

Resolution

Currently, there is no method to prevent this warning message from displaying, and there are no future development plans to change this. 

To view user certificates installed on your device (Android 8.0), go to: Settings > Lock Screen and Security > Other Security Settings > User.  You will see a list of the certificates installed in this menu. If you click the name of a certificate, you can view more details about it and if necessary, remove it. 
 

Additional information

  • See: Certificates in the Knox Platform for Enterprise Admin Guide.
 
 
Share it: