Menu

Manage roles

This topic describes how to create, edit and, delete roles for MSP admins.

Create a role

  1. In your MSP portal on the left hand navigation, select Roles.
  2. On the top-right, click CREATE ROLE button.
  3. In the Create role screen, create a name and description for the role and assign the following permissions:

  4. NOTE—If you leave any items unchecked, the respective permission is blocked for the MSP admin with this role.
    • Manage customer account
      There are two customer account access permissions:
      • Add a new customer and edit customer account information including access level—Access level here means whether or not the admin will be able to request a change to the customer access level from no access to full access.
      • Delink customer—Delinking means the customer is no longer managed by the MSP. See Delink a customer to know more about this feature.
    • MSP activity Log
      You can choose whether or not the admin can view the MSP activity log that shows the activity of all the MSP admins. This option is not applicable to Customer activity log, which the MSP admin can view except for the email address of the customer IT admins.
    • MSP administrators and roles
      IMPORTANT—Allowing this permission gives the MSP admin with this role the ability to delete or edit permissions for other admins and change their role permissions. Practice caution while giving these permissions.
      • Invite and manage MSP administrators—Allows the role to invite new admins, change the ‘role’ and ‘list of customers’ of existing admins, and delete the admins.
      • Manage MSP roles—Allows to edit all of the role permissions as described above in this section.
      • WARNING—Admin with a role having this permission can change their own role to have all the permissions.
  5. Click SAVE.

Edit a role

  1. In your MSP portal on the left hand navigation, select Roles.
  2. Under the ROLE NAME column, click the role you want to edit. You can use the search bar to search for role names.
  3. In the Edit role screen, you can change the role name, its description, and permissions. For more info on each of the permissions, see the Create a role section.
  4. Click SAVE.

Delete a role

  1. In your MSP portal on the left hand navigation, select Roles.
  2. Under the ROLE NAME column, click the role you want to delete. You can use the search bar to search for role names.
  3. In the Edit role screen, click DELETE.
  4. A Delete role confirmation dialogue appears. If this role is assigned to one or more admins, their names are displayed. The dialogue box mentions that these admins will not have any role assigned after the role deletion and will need to be assigned a new role. Click DELETE.
Share it: