Menu

Upgrade or downgrade a Knox Suite license

Upgrade licenses

This section describes how to upgrade the following license types to a Knox Suite license:

  • Knox Manage license
  • Knox Platform for Enterprise

WARNING—Once you upgrade a Knox Manage license on a device to a Knox Suite license, you cannot revert back or downgrade it to a Knox Manage license without performing a factory reset on the device.

To move to a Knox Manage license for devices currently enrolled with a Knox Suite license, you must reset these devices to factory settings.

Upgrade a user's or organization's license

You can upgrade the license of a user or organization.

NOTE—The Upgrade button is only visible if you have registered license types that can be upgraded and a Knox Suite license in the admin portal. You can only upgrade organizations or users with a Knox Manage type or a Knox Manage (&KPE) type license.
  1. Navigate to Setting > License.

  2. Click Upgrade.

  3. In the Organization tab, select the organizations you want to upgrade.

  4. In the User tab, select the users you want to upgrade.

  5. Click Upgrade.

  6. In the confirmation popup, click OK.

Upgrade a device's license

You can send a device command to upgrade a device's Knox Manage or Knox Platform for Enterprise license.

  1. Navigate to Device.

  2. Select the devices whose license you want to upgrade.

  3. Click Device Command.

  4. In the Knox Manage category, click Upgrade License.

  5. In the confirmation popup, click OK.

Downgrade a license from Knox Suite to Knox Manage

You can also downgrade a Knox Suite license to a Knox Manage-only license. Currently, when you downgrade a license, you must re-enroll the device in Knox Manage. To downgrade a license, do as follows:

  1. Create a new organization or user with the license type Knox Manage. You can also change the existing organization or user's license type. Note the following:
    • Valid KM license key—Your KM console must have a valid Knox Manage license key available for use.
    • Premium features—If your Knox Manage license includes premium features, you must create a new organization or user with the KM license. Simply changing an existing organization or user type, may result in not applying premium features to your profile.
  2. Unenroll the devices for which you want to downgrade the license, and then re-enroll these devices to the new or changed Knox Manage organization or user.
Share it: