Menu

Register a single user account

To register a single user account directly in the Admin Portal, complete the following steps:

NOTE—In accordance with each country or region's privacy policies, be sure to notify the administrator or obtain consent before registering.
  1. Navigate to User.

  2. On the User page, click Add.

  3. On the Add User page, enter the following user information:

    • User ID— Enter a user ID to log in to Knox Manage with for device enrollment.

    • Password— Enter a password between 8 and 30 characters.

      Click the check box next to Reset after sign-in to allow users to change their password when they first logged in.

    • Confirm Password— Repeat the password.

    • User Name— Enter the user’s full name.

    • Email— Enter the user’s email address.

    • Mobile Number— Select the country number and enter the user’s mobile number to send the URL address for device enrollment using SMS.

    • User Group / Organization— Click Select, and On the Select User Group / Organization page, select the user group on the User Group tab and the organization on the Organization tab.

      NOTE—If you do not select an organization, the user automatically belongs to the Undefined organization.
    • License— Select the license type to be used for this user—Knox Suite or Knox Manage. Select Knox Suite if you have a Knox Suite license and you want to use the same license to enroll this user’s device to other Knox services included in Knox Suite.

      NOTE— With a Knox Suite license, only one license seat is consumed by each device (IMEI) regardless of how many Knox services (in Knox Suite) that device is enrolled in.
    • Staging User— If you want to set up a shared device, you must first create a staging user. To create a staging user, select Yes for this checkbox and then continue on to save the user's details. For detailed information about the entire process of creating a staging user and a shared device, see Register a shared device.

    • Shared Device Type— Once you've set up your staging user, you can now create a shared device. For detailed information about the entire process of creating a staging user and a shared device, see Register a shared device. The following two options are available to you:

      • Temporary—Choose this option for guest or visitor users. All the data including installed applications are deleted from the device when the user checks out of the device.
      • Persistent—Choose this option for shift workers. All data and installed applications are retained even when the user checks out of the device.
    • Android Manage Type Select the Android enrollment type among Android Legacy, Android Enterprise, or Follow Organization’s Type. If you select the Android Enterprise type, then you can also select whether to apply a Fully Managed with Work Profile profile type to the device.

      NOTE—The user’s Android manage type takes a higher priority than the organization’s Android manage type. Even if you move the user to a different organization, the Android enrollment type set for the users still applies to the users.
    • Fully Managed with Work Profile Select whether the device signed with this account is enabled as Fully Managed with Work Profile mode. A Work Profile is automatically created on Fully Managed. Then, the device and the Work Profile can be managed simultaneously. This mode is only supported on devices running Android version 8 to 10.

    • AD/LDAP Sync Allow the creating of user accounts from the AD/LDAP system. If AD/LDAP Sync is selected, the existing user information is synchronized from the AD/LDAP system and registered to the Admin Portal.

      NOTE—To create AD/LDAP user accounts, you must connect AD/LDAP directory services with Knox Manage and add a sync service. For more information about adding a sync services, see Adding sync services.
    • Tag Click Add, and on the Add Tag page, enter new tags to add.
  4. Click Save & Request Enrollment to save the user account and send an installation guide to help users enroll their devices.

    Click Save to create the user account and not send an installation guide to the user.

  5. On the Save User page, click OK.

Share it: