Questions and answers for new users
Last updated December 6th, 2023
No. The new view makes use of a standard Knox Manage or Knox Suite license, so you may use your existing license.
No. The original view exists in the original separate web app, while the new view is an embedded console inside the Knox Admin Portal. You can’t access both simultaneously.
Yes. You can switch back and forth whenever you need.
Yes. You can switch back and forth whenever you need to use features from the other view.
No. All data is preserved, regardless of the current view.
The chosen view is applied to the entire tenant, and isn’t tied to the admin’s permissions. If a tenant activates the new view, then all admins belonging to it will access it using the new view.
Yes. You can view any devices managed by your tenant on the Device page, refined through the filter settings.
It depends. If your tenant has users that belong to an organization in the original view, you won’t be able to manage them in the new view. If the existing users were added manually and belong to a group, then you can manage them in the new view.
Those users will be marked with an ⓘ with the tooltip This user is assigned to an organization in the Knox Manage Advanced view.
No, it doesn’t currently support user syncing from any identity provider. In you have a tenant that uses Active Directory, you should continue using the original view until it’s implemented in the new view.
A profile is a combination of policies. A policy is a collection of settings related to a particular category of device management. When configuring a profile, you set up each policy separately. You can save and reuse policy presets across profiles, and collate multiple presets together.
Yes. Multiple profile assignments, as well as profile priority, are available features.
All data is saved and synced between the two views. However, not all entities and data are supported in both views. Profiles created in the new view will be present in the original view, but can’t be modified or exported. New policies set in the new view will be hidden in the original view, but all settings will remain and continue to apply to any assigned devices.
The terms system app and control app are synonymous. They both refer to pre-installed, low-level apps and services on the device. The term was changed in the new view to provide a clearer meaning.
Is this page helpful?