Back to top

Renew an expired license

Last updated September 6th, 2023

When the Knox Manage, Knox Suite or Knox Platform for Enterprise licenses applied to a device expire, existing settings or policies, configured before the license expiry, continue to apply to the devices. Additionally, a few basic functions that allow communication between the device and the Knox Manage console continue to be available.

Although IT admins can still access the Knox Manage console, they can only unenroll devices and or update their license. They can’t deploy on the devices any new settings, apps, profiles, or content configured in the Knox Manage console. Neither can the device users download new configurations or content using the Knox Manage agent on the device.

View the following table to see what happens in detail when licenses expire:

Case

Description

Knox Manage license expired

Console

  • A pop-up alert notifies the user of license expiration.
  • Device controls are restricted.
  • Available device commands: Unenroll Device, Update license, Change license, Update Knox Manage Agent, Factory Reset, Collect audit logs, Collect device logs, Collect diagnosis information

User device

  • Access to the Knox Manage service is restricted.
  • The existing policies still apply.

Knox Suite license expired

Console
  • A pop-up alert notifies the use of license expiration.
  • Device controls are restricted.
  • Available device commands: Unenroll Device, Update license, Change license, Update Knox Manage Agent, Factory Reset, Collect audit logs, Collect device logs, Collect diagnosis information
User device
  • Access to the Knox Manage service is restricted.
  • The existing policies still apply.

Knox Manage and Knox Platform for Enterprise licenses expired

Console

  • Device and Work Profile management is unavailable. If your KPE license will expire within the next 90 days, or if the license has expired but hasn't been retired, you can renew the license for another two years. For more information on renewing a KPE license, see Knox Platform for Enterprise licenses.
  • You may only unenroll devices. When you unenroll a device, the Work Profile is deleted from the device.

User device

  • Access to the Knox Manage service is restricted.
  • The existing policies still apply.
  • Knox Workspace is locked and becomes unusable.

Licenses can be renewed on a monthly, yearly, or biennial basis through validity period extensions or renewal contracts. The license information can be updated via the following methods:

  • Automatic updates once daily for applied licenses via Knox Manage and SLM server scheduling (default)

  • Automatic updates via scheduler by tenant (Setting > Configuration > Profile Update Schedule)

  • Manual update (Device > select device > Device Command > Knox Manage > Update License )

Renew a license in all assigned devices

To renew an existing license and update all assigned devices, complete the following steps:

  1. Go to Setting > License.

  2. Click the name of the license you want to renew. The details of the license open.

  3. Click Modify. Enter the new license key and click Save.

Renew a license in selected devices

To renew an existing license in selected devices, complete the following steps:

  1. Navigate to Device.

  2. Click the check box for the device you want to renew and click Update License.

Is this page helpful?