Menu

Before you use the VPP

Verify the following prerequisites before using the Apple VPP.

  • Make sure that the Apple VPP is available in your country. For more information about VPP availability, see Apple support site.
  • Make sure that your organization has an Apple Business account. If not, create an account at https://business.apple.com.
  • The VPP applications can be assigned to the devices running iOS 7.0 or higher, or macOS 10.9 or higher.
NOTE—The VPP website (http://deploy.apple.com) has been incorporated into the Apple Business Manager website (https://business.apple.com) as of December 1, 2019. Upgrade to Apple Business Manager with the guides from the website.

The following explanation has important information for using the Apple VPP. Get familiar with it before you start the VPP.

Distribution method

When you purchase applications through the VPP, you must choose between the following distribution methods for the applications.

  • Managed distribution
  • Redeemable codes

Managed Distribution

Using managed distribution is recommended. The purchased applications will be added to Knox Manage when you register a VPP token on the Admin Portal. After assigning the applications, you can unassign and reassign them. Each VPP user receives a license code, which allows them to use the applications after you have assigned them. Upon a change in the application assignment, the application information and total number of license codes will be updated automatically.

To add purchased applications through managed distribution, the following procedures must be performed.

Redeemable Codes

The applications will be added to Knox Manage when you upload the spreadsheet containing the redeemable codes for the purchased applications on the Admin Portal. The spreadsheet is downloaded after purchase. Once you assign the applications to VPP users, you cannot unassign or reassign them.

To add purchased applications through redeemable codes, the following procedures must be performed.

Status of users

The VPP users’ statuses are divided into three types:

  • Registered: The user is registered as a VPP user. A VPP invitation has been sent to the user, but the user has not yet accepted the invitation.
  • Associated: The user is registered as a VPP user and has accepted the invitation. The user’s device is associated with the user’s Apple account. Apple gives the user a VPP Client user ID, which allows them to use the assigned applications.
  • Retired: The user has been removed from the VPP user list on the Admin Portal. The user information is no longer visible in the Admin Portal but remains on the VPP website.